The Grandma Scam PDF Print E-mail

One of the worst scams during 2014 for elderly people is the Grandma Scam. Someone calls claiming to be your grandson or granddaughter who is stuck in a foreign jail and needs money to get out. Maybe this scam works so well because it dredges up memories of "Midnight Express." But the only people in danger in this scam are the people who fall for it.  Watch this YouTube video (http://youtu.be/v2VFy2igHPE) to see how one Grandma was taken.

Tips for how to recognize this scam:

  • The caller has a strong sense of urgency
  • The caller asks for payment in MoneyPak cards or some other payment that is hard to trace
  • The caller insists on secrecy
What is Linn County Triad? PDF Print E-mail


The Linn County TRIAD is a partnership of county and local law enforcement and other organizations and individuals involved with older adult issues of safety and well-being. The Linn County TRIAD includes the Linn County Sheriff, all local Linn County community police departments, plus local agencies and older community volunteers who all agree to work together to reduce criminal victimization of older adults.


What does the Linn County TRIAD do?

  • EDUCATION: By sponsoring crime prevention and personal  safety programs for older citizens.

  • ASSISTANCE: By recruiting and training volunteers to assist law enforcement in the presentation of applicable information regarding crimes that can be committed against older citizens.

  • SUPPORT: By identifying community resources and providing information and referrals to older persons seeking  knowledge and assistance.

The primary way that TRIAD  helps seniors is through:

Elder Abuse Legislation Update (SF2239) PDF Print E-mail

The bill to address elder abuse, thought to be expired, was resurrected and assigned to a conference committee in the final days of session and passed both chambers. On May 23, Governor Branstad signed this legislation (SF2239) that aims to combat elder abuse in Iowa.

The legislation, Senate File 2239, creates provisions within the Iowa Code to provide relief from elder abuse. Under the new provisions, a vulnerable elder can file a petition in an Iowa court to seek relief from elder abuse in a manner similar to current domestic abuse laws. The law provides courts with a variety of solutions, in the form of temporary and permanent orders, to assist vulnerable Iowans facing elder abuse.

In addition to providing protections from elder abuse, the law mandates that several state agencies collaborate to provide written recommendations to strengthen Iowa’s elder abuse prevention, detection, and intervention efforts. The report is due to the Governor, the General Assembly, and the Department of Management by August 15, 2014. Departments that must work together to prepare the report include the Department on Aging, the Department of Human Services, the Department of Inspections and Appeals, the Department of Public Health, and the Office of the Attorney General.

Last Updated on Friday, 01 August 2014 19:25